Sophia and Inkly both live in the "10 minutes a day instead of scrolling" corner of your phone, so Sophia vs Inkly ends up in the same search. They don't teach the same thing. Sophia is for knowing more about the world. Inkly is for changing how you work and live.
We compared them using Sophia's website, both apps' App Store and Google Play listings, and public store reviews, all checked on November 2, 2026. We did not hands-on test Sophia. Inkly is our app, so weigh our take accordingly; we held it to the same sources and left out anything we couldn't check.

Inkly vs Sophia: which should you pick?
Pick by what you want out of the 10 minutes. Sophia and Inkly both use short lessons and quizzes, but one fills you in on the world and the other works on your habits and decisions.
- Pick Sophia if you want to sound smart at dinner and follow the news. It covers history, mythology, art, literature, science and "understanding today's world", with lessons that run from the fall of Constantinople to how artificial intelligence works. It's also on Android and in 26 App Store languages.
- Pick Inkly if you want to change how you work and live. It turns ideas from non-fiction books, such as Thinking, Fast and Slow, into daily insights, quizzes you on each one, and lets you chat with Inkly about how to use it. It's iPhone only and in English.
- Pick both if you have two kinds of curiosity. Sophia at $8.99 a month plus Inkly's cheapest monthly plan at $9.99 comes to about $19 a month. Otherwise, start with the goal that bugs you more.
- Pick neither if you already finish books. A library card and our guide on how to remember what you read will do more than either app.
For more options, see our best self-improvement apps or the best general knowledge apps.
What is the Sophia app?
Sophia is a general knowledge app that teaches culture and current affairs in short daily lessons. It's made by Vik Studios SAS, a French company, and its first version came out on April 7, 2026. In the US App Store it's called "Sophia : General Knowledge"; in France it's "Sophia : Culture Générale", which is why you'll also see it searched as the Sophia culture app.
According to its website, Sophia was started by two students and now works with academics and PhD holders who write the lessons. Signed lessons carry the author's name and title. The site lists six subjects: history, mythology, art, literature, science and understanding today's world. The App Store description adds philosophy, geopolitics and economics, promising everything from Napoleon's Hundred Days to the basics of macroeconomics.
How a Sophia lesson works, going by the site:
- You read one topic across five screens, with sources cited and no jargon.
- You answer a few quiz questions, see the explained answers and get a score.
- The next day, a daily review brings earlier material back with spaced repetition.
- Streaks, levels and a general-knowledge score per subject track your progress.
Sophia says a lesson takes 5 to 10 minutes with the quiz, and the daily review adds a minute or two. Everything is text; neither the site nor the listing mentions audio.
Which Sophia is this?
This page is about the French Sophia general knowledge app by Vik Studios, the one on the App Store and Google Play. It is not:
- Sophia Learning (sophia.org), the site that sells online college-credit courses. In the US, that's usually what a "sophia app" search turns up.
- Sophia the robot from Hanson Robotics.
- Sophia University in Tokyo, or the French health programme also called "sophia". Sophia's own FAQ rules both out.
Came for college credits? Wrong page. Came for a daily culture fix? Read on.
How is Sophia different from Inkly?
Sophia teaches facts about the world; Inkly teaches ideas you apply to yourself. The formats look alike (short lesson, then a quiz), but the content, the extras and the platforms differ.
| Feature | Sophia | Inkly |
|---|---|---|
| Content | General knowledge: history, mythology, art, literature, science, today's world | Big ideas from non-fiction and self-improvement books |
| Lesson format | 5 screens per lesson, one topic, sources cited | Short daily insights built around one idea |
| Quizzes | A few questions after each lesson, with explained answers and a score | A quick quiz after each insight |
| Review | Daily spaced-repetition review | No spaced review listed; streaks and a growth map track progress |
| AI | None described on the site or listing | Adaptive AI learning plan and chat with Inkly to reflect |
| Audio | None mentioned | None |
| Languages | 26 App Store languages, including English, French, German and Spanish | English |
| Platforms | iPhone, iPad, Android | iPhone only |
| Account | Required | Not stated on its listing |
| Free part | Download and the first lessons | Learning-pattern analysis and plan preview |
| Ratings (Nov 2, 2026) | 4.7 from 161 (US App Store), 4.6 from 597 (France), 4.6 on Google Play | 4.6 from 17 (US App Store) |
Sources: Sophia's website and FAQ, its App Store listing and Google Play listing; Inkly's App Store listing.
Day to day, Sophia's spaced review brings old lessons back without you asking, while Inkly's reflection chat ends each idea by asking what you'll do with it. Inkly also starts by working out how you learn; to see your style first, try our free learning style quiz.

How much does Sophia cost?
As of November 2026, Sophia Premium costs $8.99 a month or $5.99 a week in the US App Store, and Apple lists yearly plans from $8.99 to $59.99. The download and the first lessons are free; the subscription opens the full catalogue, the quizzes and the daily review.
| US App Store prices, November 2, 2026 | Sophia | Inkly |
|---|---|---|
| Free part | Download and the first lessons | Learning-pattern analysis and plan preview |
| Weekly | $5.99 | None listed |
| Monthly | $8.99 | $9.99 to $14.99 |
| Yearly | Six annual products listed: $8.99, $17.99, $24.99, $34.99, $44.99, $59.99 | $19.99, $29.99 or $49.99 |
| Free trial | Not stated on its site or store pages | None listed |
A few things to know about these numbers:
- Apple lists several annual prices for both apps. Sophia has six yearly products and Inkly has three. Apple doesn't say which one you'll see; it's likely offers or price tests, but that's our guess. The checkout screen is the only place that tells you.
- Sophia's site doesn't publish prices. Its FAQ says prices are shown in the app. On Google Play, in-app items run from $8.99 to $34.99.
- The weekly plan is the expensive way in. $5.99 a week is about $26 a month, nearly three times the monthly plan.
Neither app states a free trial, so don't count on one. If the paywall offers one, read the renewal line first.
Is Sophia worth it?
Sophia is worth it if you want a steady, low-effort habit of learning about history, art and science, and you're fine paying once the intro runs out. This Sophia app review draws on the listings and public reviews, not our own use. Public reviews on the App Store and Google Play are mostly positive, with 4.7 stars from 161 US App Store ratings and 4.6 on Google Play as of November 2, 2026.
What reviewers like, paraphrased from App Store and Google Play reviews:
- Lessons are clear and well explained.
- It feels like a good use of time instead of scrolling.
- The design is clean and getting started is easy.
What reviewers complain about:
- The paywall. The most common complaint: almost everything sits behind the subscription, and several reviewers say only the intro is free.
- Depth. Some lessons feel short and thin on context.
- Quizzes. A few say questions repeat or ask about things the lesson didn't cover.
- Marketing. A few felt the TikTok ads oversold the app.
- Bugs. One Android review reports Google sign-in failing and the app freezing.
There's also a gap worth knowing about between Sophia's claims and what you can check. Its website says it has "over 240 lessons", 200,000 downloads, a 4.8 App Store rating and a #3 spot in Education on the App Store. The store pages we checked showed 4.7 in the US and 4.6 in France, and Google Play lists 50K+ Android downloads (iPhone downloads aren't public). The 240+ lessons live inside the app: the site's lessons page says the first lessons are "coming very soon", and its sitemap has two English lesson pages. So you can't browse the catalogue before you pay. Look at the free lessons, then decide.
Our take: the app is young (version 1.10 came out on October 14, 2026). If the free lessons click, one month at $8.99 is a fair test. And if the real goal is to scroll less, our guide on how to stop doomscrolling covers the phone settings that help whichever app you pick.
Where does Inkly fit next to Sophia?
Inkly fits if you'd rather learn ideas you can act on than facts about the world. It's an iPhone app that works like Duolingo for personal growth, built on big ideas from non-fiction books.
Inkly gives you a learning type (such as "Vision Weaver"), builds an adaptive AI learning plan from your goals and habits, and serves daily insights from non-fiction books with a quiz after each. You chat with Inkly to turn an idea into an action, and a growth map tracks six areas: Vision, Clarity, Willpower, Vitality, Wealth and Influence. Daily insights, quizzes, AI reflection and progress tracking need Inkly Unlimited, the paid plan.
What it doesn't do: no Android or web app, no audio, English only, and no free trial listed. Its 4.6 rating comes from 17 App Store ratings, a much smaller sample than Sophia's. If you want to know who built the Parthenon, Inkly is the wrong app. If you want to stop making the same decision mistakes, that's what it's for.
What are the best Sophia alternatives?
The closest apps like Sophia teach a mix of subjects in short lessons with quizzes. These three Sophia alternatives each change one thing:
- Nibble: "interactive 10-min lessons & quizzes" across art, math, logic, history, statistics, personal finance, philosophy and more. It runs on iOS, Android and the web, and the first lesson is free. The closest match to Sophia, with more math and logic.
- Imprint: visual lessons in psychology, philosophy, history, finance and science, with chapters of two minutes or less and daily quizzes. It also has visual guides to bestsellers like Sapiens and Atomic Habits. Pick it if you remember pictures better than text.
- Inkly: big ideas from non-fiction books, with a plan, quizzes and AI reflection. Pick it if your goal is self-improvement rather than general knowledge.
For more, our roundup of microlearning apps compares short-lesson apps on price and format, and our general knowledge app picks focus on the Sophia side of the shelf.
FAQ
Is Sophia better than Inkly?
Neither is better for everyone, because they teach different things. Sophia is better for general knowledge (history, art, mythology, science, today's world) and runs on iPhone and Android. Inkly is better for applying ideas from self-improvement books, with a learning plan and AI reflection, on iPhone only.
Is the Sophia app free?
Partly. As of November 2026, the download and the first lessons are free, and a subscription opens the full catalogue, the quizzes and the daily review. Several App Store reviewers say only the intro is free, so expect to hit the paywall quickly.
How much does Sophia cost?
In the US App Store, Sophia Premium costs $8.99 a month or $5.99 a week as of November 2, 2026. Apple also lists yearly plans at prices from $8.99 to $59.99, and the app shows you which one applies at checkout. Sophia's website doesn't publish prices.
Is Sophia on Android?
Yes. Sophia is on Google Play as "Sophia - General Knowledge", with 4.6 stars and 50K+ downloads as of November 2, 2026. It's also on iPhone and iPad. There's no web app. Inkly, by contrast, is iPhone only.
Is the Sophia general knowledge app the same as Sophia Learning?
No. Sophia: General Knowledge is a culture app by Vik Studios, a French company, launched in April 2026. Sophia Learning (sophia.org) is a separate US service that sells online college-credit courses. They share a name and nothing else.
What are the best apps like Sophia?
Nibble is the closest match, with 10-minute lessons and quizzes across art, history, math and philosophy, on iOS, Android and the web. Imprint teaches similar subjects with visuals and two-minute chapters. If you want ideas from self-improvement books instead of general knowledge, Inkly, our app, is built for that.
Does Sophia use AI?
Not as far as its website and App Store listing say: Sophia's lessons are written by academics and PhD holders. Inkly does use AI, for its adaptive learning plan and the reflection chat.



